Eat, Drink and Be Scary it’s Halloween

I love love love dressing up, it’s like I’m back in the Barbie era when it was much more fun to dress up the dolls and create the story then to actually play with it. Well I grew up, the barbies are gone (chewed up or stolen by a cousin.. You know who you are ;)!) but I still love the dressing up part!

No Carnaval for me for the past 3 years but I make do with Halloween. My one chance to dress up in the year so I have to make it count. Halloween fell on a Wednesday this year so I got to celebrate it a couple of times: the weekend before and twice on the day itself. The weekend before there was a benefit for St. Ambrose in Chaffee (a small town southwest of Cape) and Steffie and I decided this would be a great opportunity for the European Students to experience something truly American. The ESA group went dressed up in various costumes to a Hunting themed party… Yes we certainly stood out :)! The benefit was great, enough to eat and drink and a silent and oral auction as entertainment. The people there loved seeing our international  group and we got a special treatment from everyone. People wanted us to try their secret recipes, help with the raffle tickets, complimented our outfits and showed their appreciation for our interest in their community.

On Halloween itself we had a food day at work, and apparently I didn’t get the memo of not dressing up. So I get to work in my undercover Supergirl outfit to find out I’m the only person dressed up, oh well I rocked it either way!  That night I met up with friends downtown for dinner and a party. This time I took out my beloved cookie monster outfit and went downtown to party.

So 3 outfits for 3 different Halloween themed parties this year, I’m not saying I outdid myself, but I surely showed everyone how a Southern Dutch girl celebrates Halloween!

Ahhh verkleden, wat een feest! Het is alsof ik terug ben in het Barbie tijdperk, toen het leuker was om de poppen te verkleden dan het verhaal te spelen. Nu ben ik (iets) ouder, de barbies zijn weg (aangeknabbeld of gestolen door een neef/nicht… je weet wie je bent ;)!) maar het verkleed gedeelte ben ik niet kwijtgeraakt!

Geen Carnaval voor mij deze afgelopen 3 jaren, dus moet ik het maar doen met Halloween. Dit jaar viel halloween op een woensdag en kon ik het dus een aantal keer vieren: het weekend van te voren en twee keer op de dag zelf. Het weekend voor Halloween zijn we (de ESA groep) naar Chaffee gegaan voor een Benefiet voor St. Ambrose. Steffie en ik dachten dat dit een geweldige kans zou zijn voor de Europese studenten om iets echt Amerikaans mee te maken. Het thema van de avond was “De Jacht” maar aangezien wij al onze kostuums hadden mochten we zo ook mee, we waren echte “eye-catchers”! Het Benefiet was geweldig, genoeg te eten en drinken en als entertainment een veiling. De mensen daar vonden het geweldig om onze Internationale groep te zien en we kregen dan ook een speciale behandeling. Mensen kwamen op ons af met dingen die we moesten proberen qua eten en drinken, we mochten meehelpen met de loting, complimenteerden ons om onze outfits en toonden hun waardering voor onze interesse in hun gemeenschap.

Op de dag zelf had ik een “Food Day” op het werk, en blijkbaar had ik de memo niet gekregen dat we ons dit jaar niet zouden verkleden. Dus kwam ik aan op het werk verkleed als Supergirl, ik was de enige verkleed!! die avond besloot ik om mijn Koekjesmonster outfit uit de kast te halen en zijn we gaan uiteten en daarna uitgegaan.

Dus 3 verschillende outfits voor Halloween dit jaar, niet slecht! Ik denk dat ik iedereen heb laten zien hoe een Limburgs Maedje halloween viert!

2 thoughts on “Eat, Drink and Be Scary it’s Halloween

  1. Hey there,

    I’m Stephen Gilbert. I’m a co-founder of a design/marketing company called Anchor. We’re a small startup from Portland, Maine, and still looking to establish our brand.

    I’m commenting because it looks like you have the “anchor” username on Instagram, and that’s something our company would love to have.

    Is it something you’d be willing to trade with us? If you’d like, we would compensate you financially for the “anchor” username. We’d also help you come up with a new name if you want. Plus we’d love you for it!

    Let me know if this is something you’d be interested in! A response would be greatly appreciated! You can email me at stephen@anchr.it.

    Thank you so much!

    Stephen Gilbert

Leave a Reply

